11.04.2014, Friday, 01:22 pm

CAN’T BELIEVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SQUEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I slept till twelve today [what?? It’s not like I have anything ELSE to do, anyway] and woke up with a slight headache because of Feni’s way-too-loud-to-be-considered-normal snoring [seriously. Since what do DOGS SNORE??????].

I toppled out of bed in my SuperMan nightie and made my way to the kitchen, where Mum was busy preparing lunch. ‘Good afternoon, hun!! Sleep well??’ She interrogated, tossing vegetables into the frying pan. ‘Uh huh,’ I mumbled, thinking it best not to mention Feni’s nightly “problem” just yet.

‘Oh, and there’s something in the mail for you,’ Mum informed, uncorking a bottle of orange juice and splashing it into glasses. ‘Oh… OK,’ I muttered, already shuffling towards the newspaper rack [where we usually stuff our mail] and started leafing through the bunch of letters, feeling extremely exhausted [even though I’d only just woken up from THIRTEEN HOURS of uninterrupted slumber].

The moment I laid my eyes on it, I KNEW it was going to change my life FOREVER. And maybe that IS a bit of an exaggeration, but what are you gonna do about it?? Read my diary????

Anyway, I wedged my package out of the clutter before charging to my room and flopping onto my bed. Slowly, as if to preserve its overpowering brilliance, I fingered the ivory cover, softly peeling it off. I figured it was a school-related document, thanks to GBMS’s emblem embossed on the front of the envelope. Once I read the document enclosed, I couldn’t believe it.

Was it… Was I… Did the… ??

Dear Taylor Skarr,

We, the staff at GBMS, have nominated you and three other students from your grade for the post of Red Houe Girl Captain. Congratulations!! Once school officially commences on April twentieth, we will make this announcement public. 

The school will hold the student elections on the twenty-fifth, so prepare a speech and send us an eMail with the symbol you choose by tomorrow. 

Congratulations once again,

Principal Rodrigues 

There you have it!! The shortest, sweetest, [probably only] letter I have ever received. I’m still in my night clothes, so I’d better go change. [The odour is already too strong to bear]

4 thoughts on “11.04.2014, Friday, 01:22 pm

You weren't going to leave without commenting now were you??

