25.03.2014, Tuesday, 12:42 pm

I don’t know where to begin. What about here;

THE PARTY WAS FANTASTICALLY SUPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why?? Well, maybe it was because of the fact that we spent FOUR HOURS in the pool. Or maybe because we tried mock tails for the first time ever [whats screams teenagehood more than a bubbly Appletini??].

I am assuming it only appropriate to start from the beginning, so let the story commence from when Dad dropped me off at Blu [yeah, that’s the name of the bird in Rio], the swanky, five-star resort where Krissa was holding the gala.

I walked into the hotel’s gates and was directed to the pool, a cool lagoon that overlooked Cha Cha Cha, a posh restaurant full of happy [by saying that they were “happy” I am just making an assumption. Obviously, I did not go to each one of them personally and ask them about their present state of mind or anything. I was just PRESUMING that they were at least content. -The only reason I added that last bit was because I don’t need one of the Cha Cha Cha diners getting hold of my diary and then suing me in the American court for making false statements, i.e, that they were happy. Gawd knows that I’m broke anyway, what with my non existent weekly allowance-] those , hungry people.

As expected, I was greeted by this crazy bunch of middle-school girls who went “Taylor!! You made it!! Yeah!!” for a little over three minutes [which is the time it took for me to change into my swim stuff and flip into the pool].

We didn’t do much during the first hour in the pool, just waddled around and splashed everyone else. You know, the usual stuff kids do when together at bodies of water.

After about sixty minutes of doing nothing, Krissa’s Mum [who will from this moment on be referred to as Mrs Sawyer] prodded us out of the pool and led us to the K-table, which was basically this counter decorated with balloons and streamers.

Here is what happened just after I got out of the water;

Mrs Sawyer: OK girls, choose a seat.

Everyone: Yes Mrs Sawyer!!

Everyone: *Takes Seat* [Separate seats, of course]

Mrs Sawyer: Now look under your seats!!

Me: *Gropes under seat. Finds soft thing. Pulls out soft thing, only to find out that its a…

Mrs Sawyer: SERONGUE surprise!!!

Me: *Looks around blankly as other kids squeal in delight over finally owning a “serongue.”*

Greta: OOOHHHH!!!! I’ve ALWAYS wanted one of these!! Thank you SO much, Mrs S!!

Isabelle: ME TOO!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Mrs Sawyer!!

Chantal: This one is so ME!! You’re the best, Mrs Sawyer!!

Ashley: TOTALLY!!!!!!!!!

Me: *Still wondering what the heck just happened*

Everyone-Except-[Who Else??]Me: *Ties the serongue around themselves*

Me: Wait a minute… I’m supposed to WEAR this??

Krissa: Yeah, silly!!

Me: Um… OK…

Mrs Sawyer: Here, Taylor, let me help you with that

Mrs Sawyer: *fastens my serongue*

Patricia: [Patty’s one of Mrs Sawyer’s colleagues who came over here to help her out with the party] Now I want everybody to go on over to that fountain right over there and wait for further instructions

Everyone: *Scoots over to the aforementioned*

Patricia: Do you guys see flowers and drinks on the table to your left??

Everyone: YEAH!!

Patricia: So I want you to go pick a mocktail and a flower to go with it.

-That’s when my classmates REALLY go berserk-

Tamara: MOCKTAILS????????

Laura: Omigosh!!! This is totally the best bash ever!!

Violet: First the AMAZE serongues and now THIS??? Wow!!!!!!!

-Here’s where I casually scoop up a beverage and casually rest it on my palm and casually smile at the camera… wait, the CAMERA?????????? Patty’s taking PHOTOGRAPHS of us with nothing but PIECES OF CLOTH patched up over our two-pieces??????? AND with suspicious mugs half full of  liquid nestled in our arms???? And everybody else is OK with this??????????-

-Who am I kidding?? I LOVED the photo session!! When have I ever been even slightly hesitant to strike up a pose, especially if it was going to be captured forever??-

Well, that turned out to be an awesome half an hour. I divided my time between digging into a plate of fries, running around screaming “tag, you’re it!!” with my pals and wishing I’d brought my journal along.

Finally, Mrs S went, ‘If you want, you can return to the water.’

That’s all it took to get my classmates hyper all over again.  Screaming, kicking, scolding, thrashing. Everybody wanted to get into pool first. We’d just been lazing around, getting all baked up for quite a while and needed that fresh boost that only chlorinated H2O can provide.

Then we spent THREE hours in the pool. THREE. I know, it sounds long and boring and simply a waste of time, but it was KICK ASS!! I don’t know why I enjoyed it more than the first dip, but I did, even though we did pretty much the same thing.

Anyway, at around eight, we got out, dried up [in the most heavenly Turkish towels I have ever felt touch my skin] and strapped on our serongues. Time for dinner!!

The food was amazing. We had lasagna, the first I’d had in weeks, and it was just a bundle of cheesy goodness. Then, for dessert, we had bites of Krissa’s creamy black forest cake, along with ice cream swirls.

Now for the surprise.

Well, at first I was a bit disappointed, because after changing and piling into Mrs Sawyer’s coupe, we just drove on to K’s house. [Which, I’ll admit, is WAY cool, but STILL. Surprises are best had outdoors]

Mrs S ordered us to climb up the stairs that led to the terrace and PRERYDRERY!!

What do we see standing there but thirteen magnificently handcrafted WISH LAMPS?????? How AWESOME, right?? Mrs S asked us each to silently wish for something for Krissa. There were thirteen of us in all, including K’s Mum.

[I can’t tell even you, DeDe, what I wished for Krissa because it will jinx it. Sorry!!!]

Oops, got to run!! Mum’s waiting for me to accompany her to the supermarket and I totally forgot!! I KNEW should have used that wish lantern to get myself a better memory!!

2 thoughts on “25.03.2014, Tuesday, 12:42 pm

You weren't going to leave without commenting now were you??

