31.10.2013, Thursday, 9:52 pm

Just back from spending the whole day at Chantal’s Christmas Tree Farm [yes, it has the BIGGEST pool EVER]. Well, all I can say is this; making friend’s with the new, French foreign exchange student was probably one of the best moves I’ve ever made. Not only did it earn me a ticket to her super cool farm, it also enabled me to try out her mum’s to-die-for homemade pizza.

Wondering what I’m going on about?? Well, it all began when Chantal’s mum phoned me up yesterday morning, with an invite to come join Chantal and a few of our school buddies at a “secret hangout.” Well, I know that curiosity killed the cat and all, but I suddenly felt an urgent NEED to know where exactly we were headed to [plus I was beginning to feel that the most exciting thing I’d done during these holidays so far was watching paint dry], so I said yes. ‘Oh, and bring your swim suit along, hun,’ She added, which made me even more perplexed.

Well, aunt Schuh [a.k.a Chantal’s mum] [pronounced “Sh-OO] arrived in her vintage Beetle today morning, a beaming smile on her face and four of my pals squeezed in at the back. ‘Hey y’all,’ I bellowed, dumping a small knapsack in the boot before slamming it shut and rushing in to greet my buddies. After waving ‘Good Bye’ to my mum, we zoomed off. Okay, maybe we didn’t zoom [how can one talk about ZOOMING in Manhattan’s holiday-rush traffic??] but you gee the idea.

So after about an hour, the car halts and the six of us alight and BEHOLD!! In front of us lay acres and acres of lush green fields, dotted with dandelions, daffodils and weeds [I’m a a pessimist at heart]. ‘WOW,’ I mumbled, in a daze. You must understand how SPELLBINDING this view must have been for me. Me, the girl who wakes up and goes to sleep with the sound of bustling traffic ringing in my ears. The greenery, the butterflies, the baby-blue skies… It was all so natural.

‘Pinch me, I’m dreaming!!’ I squealed as I hoisted my bag onto my back. ‘Where are we Chantal??’ I asked, spinning around to face my petite pal who was grinning. ‘Yeah, where is this place??’ Malaika pressed. ‘Remember that Christmas Tree Farm of mine that I was telling you guys about?? Well, we’re FINALLY here,’ she announced, rubbing her palms together.

The first thing us girls did was trek up to the actual farmhouse. Once there, we wasted no time in strapping on our swim wear and skipping to the azure pool that beckoned us with its sparkling reflections and tempting waves. ‘This is FABULOUS, Chants!!’ Isabelle exclaimed, throwing off her towel and stirring her big toe in the waters to check out the temperature. ‘Get in slow-poke,’ I teased before shoving her in.

That’s all it took to start a MAJOR aquatic-war. The fight was ON! We splashed and pulled and tugged and just tired ourselves out. In about two hours, Aunt Schuh called us in for lunch. I groaned inwardly… that is, until I figured that today was make-your-own-pizza day! We had a blast, squirting tomato puree all over ourselves and generously helping ourselves to oddles of mushroom.

Eventually, we really did manage to get some food on the plate [believe it or not] and it did taste smashing, but it wasn’t HALF as good as what we had for desert [though how we managed to get another BITE in after we stuffed ourselves silly with pizza is beyond me] which was…

SWISS CHOCOLATE CUBES CONES AND FERRERO ROCHER GELATO!!!!!!!!!!!

Yup, that was one meal I’m not going to forget any time soon. After the last crumb had been wiped out and the last sip [of cherry-ade] had been slurped, we wandered around the plot, climbing up massive oaks and forming even more massive rips in our jeans [at least it looks fashionable- right??].

Then we paraded back into the house and made ourselves pots of caramel popcorn while watching the latest episode of The Simpsons. Time flew, and it was soon time to “wind up.” I, of course, was unhappy [to say the least] because our heading home would mark the end of a sublime day, but I cheered up immensely when I reminded myself that tomorrow would be a fresh slate, a new page, another chance for us to get it right.

[I know, that last part sounded real wacko -kind of like something your teacher would say- but hey, everybody has their crazy, wisdom-guru moments, and I guess that was mine]

2 thoughts on “31.10.2013, Thursday, 9:52 pm

You weren't going to leave without commenting now were you??

