09.08.2013, Friday, 1:56 pm

Still bed ridden. I can’t even WALK OUT OF MY OWN BED ROOM!!!!!!!!!! This is criminal. An absolute outrage. I will NEVER take my freedom for granted EVER again, that I will assure you.

One of the worst parts of my falling ill right now is that I don’t have a good book to bury my spotted nose in. I can’t eve pop into the library to select a Dickens because everyone will run out shrieking and howling as they are sure to mistake me for the Loch Ness monster! [I wouldn’t blame them. Why, when I looked at myself in the mirror this morning, I nearly passed out because I almost mistook myself for a walking fire extinguisher!! So you can imagine how red in the face I have come to be…]

Oh, how I miss my buddies and the recesses at school that we’d spend by the good old mango tree, chattering away or darting about the campus, dodging members of the staff by mere inches with our pony tails bouncing all about our radiant cheeks. Those were the good times, the good times indeed.

It is surprising how we don’t relish the finer things in life [no, not extravagant purchases or Chanel ear rings, but happy, joyous moments when you don’t have a care in the world] when we have the chance to enjoy them, isn’t it?? It is only when we are deprived of those luxuries that we drool all over them and regret the time we’ve wasted.

When we are ordered by the doctor to stay confined to our more-than-comfy four-poster bed, we grumble away about work pending and all sorts of ridiculous matters that can’t be helped, but when we’re at school, listening to the professor go on about a formula that we are so sure of, we beg for fifteen minutes to curl up on the divan with a favorite paperback. Which brings back a famous quote that my wise grandpa keeps reminding me about;

As a rule, man is a fool. When it’s hot, he wants it cool. When it’s cool, he wants it hot; always wanting what is not!

I love it. It is blunt, but as true as can be. Oops, looks like I have to “get some shut-eye” as mum puts it.

To which I can say;

Thanks, dearest chicken pox, thanks a LOT.

2 thoughts on “09.08.2013, Friday, 1:56 pm

  1. Dearest T,I know what you are going through..I had a similar attack a few years back while onboard a ship I was employed on .Ten days of misery….My hospital room was tiny and didn’t have Mrs Bucket for company.

You weren't going to leave without commenting now were you??

